Tsinghua PBCSF 35 Years of Financial Reform
35 Years of Educational Excellence

The PBC School of Finance, Tsinghua University’s 17th school, was founded on March 29, 2012 as a joint venture between the University and the People's Bank of China (PBC).

Capitalizing on Tsinghua’s teaching and research resources and the School’s connections with the financial industry, Tsinghua PBCSF has become a world-class financial education institution and a leading center of financial research.

The School offers Ph.D. in Finance, Master of Finance, Dual-Degree Finance MBA, Finance EMBA, Global Finance GFD, and Executive Education programs. Through these programs, it contributes to China’s pool of high-level, innovative and globally competitive financial professionals. Also through the Tsinghua University National Institute of Financial Research, a top think tank in finance, it produces research that is transforming the future of the Chinese financial services industry.

As of July 2018, Tsinghua PBCSF is home to 3,603 alumni. The School's accomplished alumni proudly claim many titles in their contributions to the recent transformation of China's economic and financial landscape. These include:

• Authors of China Financial Reform Strategy Framework, known as the “Blue Book” of China's financial reform
• Establishing China’s first joint-stock commercial bank: China Merchants Bank
• First general manager of China’s first securities firm: Shenzhen SEZ Securities
• First president of China’s first listed bank: Shenzhen Development Bank
• Founding China’s first mutual fund: Fudao Fund
• Managing the largest domestic debt restructuring: Yuehai Group Restructuring
• Creating China’s first standardized bank card system: UnionPay

  • 1911

    Founded in 1911, Tsinghua University is one of the most reputable universities in China (1st in China in QS 2016 World University Rankings)

  • 1981

    The Graduate School of the People's Bank of China Research Institute of Finance and Banking established

  • 1994

    Renamed the Graduate School of People’s Bank of China

  • 2012

    Tsinghua University PBC School of Finance established

PBCSF's Leadership

Zhou Xiaochuan

Xiaochuan Zhou

Honorary Dean
Tsinghua University PBC School of Finance
Former Governor
The People's Bank of China

“ We cultivate high-quality financial professionals ”.

Wu XiaoLing

Xiaohui Zhang

Dean, Tsinghua University PBC School of Finance
Former Assistant Governor, The People's Bank of China

On March 29, 2012, the PBC School of Finance at Tsinghua University (Tsinghua PBCSF) was founded. The School was first established three decades ago as the Graduate School of the People's Bank of China, which had already been an intellectual home to some of Asia’s finest financial minds.

Building on the success of its predecessor, with the mission of “leading finance education and research for national and global prosperity”, Tsinghua PBCSF has introduced outstanding faculty, partnered with world leaders in business education, and forged strategic partnerships with renowned institutions to break new ground in financial education and research. With its unparalleled access to Tsinghua University's substantial academic resources and close connections with the financial industry, the School will continue to act as a platform for the cultivation of innovative financial talent, as well as the home of China's top financial think tank.

The Board

  • Hongru Liu

    Former Deputy Governor The People's Bank of China,

    Founding Chairman China Securities Regulatory Commission

  • Xiaoling Wu

    Standing Committee Member,

    National People's Congress (NPC),

    Vice Chairwoman NPC Finance and Economic Committee,

    Former Deputy Governor The People's Bank of China

  • Jianping Cheng

    Executive Vice President Tsinghua University

  • Jinfu Du

    Commissioner of Discipline Inspection,

    China Banking Regulatory Commission,

    Former Deputy Governor The People's Bank of China

  • Gongsheng Pan

    Deputy Governor The People’s Bank of China

  • Zhaoxing Wang

    Vice Chairman China Banking Regulatory Commission

  • Jianhua Wan

    Representative of Hongru Financial Education Foundation,

    President E-Capital Transfer Co., Ltd.

  • Weihe Xie

    Former Vice President Tsinghua University

  • Zhiping Zhang

    Representative of school alumni,

    Chairman Oriental Patron Financial Group

  • YanLi Zhou

    Vice Chairman China Insurance Regulatory Commission

  • Xinyi Zhuang

    Former Vice Chairman China Securities Regulatory Commission

The Leadership

  • Xiaochuan Zhou

    Honorary Dean

  • Xiaoling Wu


  • Li Liao

    Executive Associate Dean

  • Liangfei Gu

    Senior Associate Dean

  • Zhengwei Wang

    Associate Dean

  • Hao Zhou

    Associate Dean

  • Xuan Tian

    Associate Dean

  • Xiaoyan Zhang

    Associate Dean

  • Yuan Yuan

    Assistant Dean

  • Jingwei Wang

    Assistant Dean

  • Bibo Liu

    Assistant Dean


  • HEC Paris

  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology

  • MNB

  • The University of Chicago Booth School of Business

  • 고려대학교 기술경영전문대학원